PLYMOUTH, NH – Members of the New Hampshire Electric Cooperative (NHEC) are receiving ballots by mail and email as voting opens today for four seats on the company’s Board of Directors.

Members have until Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. to return their completed ballots to NHEC headquarters in Plymouth. A postage-paid return envelope is included in the ballot mailing. Every member will have secure access to cast their ballot online, if they choose. Members are also receiving email invitations to vote online if they have an email address on file with NHEC. Winners of the Board election will be announced at the 79th Annual Meeting of Members, to be held June 19, 2018 at Merrill Place Conference Center on the campus of Plymouth State University.

Six candidates are seeking election this year to four seats on the Co-op’s 11-member Board of Directors. Five candidates were nominated by the NHEC Nominating Committee, which reviews the qualifications of each candidate and recommends those it feels would best contribute to the successful operation of the Cooperative. A sixth candidate is running by petition. All candidates are required to be members of the Cooperative.

This year’s candidates selected by the Nominating Committee include incumbent Board member Kenneth Colburn of Moultonborough, Edward French of Raymond, Neil Irvine of New Hampton, Jeffrey Morrill of Thornton and Daniel Senie of Charlestown. A sixth candidate, Brenda Boisvert of Campton, filed her candidacy via petition signed by at least 100 current Co-op members as specified by the NHEC Bylaws. NHEC members are receiving statements from the candidates in support of their candidacies along with a ballot.

Ballot counting will take place Thursday, June 14, 2018 at Co-op headquarters in Plymouth. Newly-elected Board members will be seated immediately following the Annual Meeting on June 19 and will serve three-year terms.

NHEC is a democratically controlled, not-for-profit electric distribution company serving 84,000 homes and businesses in 115 New Hampshire communities.